2021 Avon and Somerset Police and Crime Commissioner Election

Logo of the A&S PCC.

On Thursday 6th May 2021, there will be an election to decide who will be the new Police and Crime Commissioner (PCC) for the Avon and Somerset Police area. The election will be held across the Bath and North East Somerset, Bristol and South Gloucestershire council areas.

The inaugural Avon and Somerset PCC election was held on 15th November 2012.

The current PCC, Sue Mountstevens (Independent), announced in January 2020 that she would not be standing for re-election in 2020.

Note: This election was originally due to take place on Thursday 7th May 2020 but was postponed due to the impact of the coronavirus emergency.

Useful links:

The Notice of Election was published on Monday 22nd March 2021 (see below) and nominations will be accepted until the deadline on Thursday 8th April 2021.

The deadline for voter registration is Monday 19th April 2021. If you are unsure whether you are registered to vote, please contact the SGC helpline on 01454 863030.

Register to vote (GOV.UK)


The candidates

Kerry Barker (Labour)

Website: Kerry Barker
Twitter: @kerrybarker22
Facebook: @Kerry Barker

Cleo Lake (Green Party)

Website: Cleo Lake
Twitter: @CleoDanceBaton
Facebook: @Cleo4PCC

Heather Shearer (Liberal Democrats)

Website: Heather Shearer
Twitter: @Heather4PCC
Facebook: @Heather4PCC

Mark Shelford (Conservative)

Website: Mark Shelford
Facebook: @MarkShelfordPCC
Twitter: @ShelfordMark

John Smith (Independent)

Website: John Smith
Twitter: @johnsmith4pcc
Facebook: @JohnSmithForPCC

If you are aware of a prospective candidate or reference link that is missing from the above list, please let us know.

Avon & Somerset PCC election news

29th March 2021 | BBC News
Avon and Somerset PCC candidates 2021

25th March 2021 | Bristol Post
Who will be Avon and Somerset’s next police commissioner?

Tweets from the candidates

Share this page: